Oberstown Children Detention Campus is governed by a Board of Management appointed by the Minister for Children and Youth Affairs under the Children Act 2001, as amended (s. 164). Under the Act (s. 167), the Board has 12 members plus a Chairperson and the membership includes: representatives of the Minister’s Department, the Department of Education and Skills and Túsla;  two representatives from the local community and two staff members, with five members identified via the State Boards appointment process.  Members are appointed for a term, renewable, of up to four years. The Board’s authority is set out in the 2001 Act (primarily ss. 165 and 167) which provides that it has such powers as are necessary or expedient for the exercise of its functions.

A new Board of Management has been appointed. Details will appear here shortly.